Relationships Australia is a federation of eight state and territory organisations providing a range of counselling, dispute resolution and family support services to children, couples, families, individuals, workplaces and communities around the country. Each state and territory Relationships Australia organisation has an independent board, a chief executive officer, a senior executive team and staff that support a range of services for clients.

While a large proportion of Relationships Australia work is funded by the federal departments of the Attorney-General and Department of Social Services, each organisation receives additional funding for particular services from their respective state and territory governments. This has resulted in a mix of services that makes each organisation unique, although all member organisations offer core federally funded programs.

A national office in Canberra provides support services to the federation of Relationships Australia organisations.  The national office is staffed by a national executive officer along with policy, communications, partnerships and administrative support.  The national office is funded by an annual contribution from each state and territory organisation.

The national board comprises the chief executive officers of each of the eight state and territory organisations. The national executive officer reports to that board. The board generally meets quarterly in person, and quarterly by teleconference. The chair, deputy chair and sub-committee positions are elected from and by members of the board. Secretariat support for the board is provided by the national office.

The following is a list of names of key people responsible for the governance of the Relationships Australia federation:

National Board Chair and Chief Executive Officer, QueenslandDr Ian Law
National Board Deputy Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Northern TerritoryMarie Morrison
National Board member and Chief Executive Officer, VictoriaDr Andrew Bickerdike
National Board member and Chief Executive Officer, New South WalesElisabeth Shaw
National Board member and Chief Executive Officer, ACT and RegionAlison Brook
National Board member and Chief Executive Officer, South AustraliaClaire Ralfs
National Board member and Chief Executive Officer, Western AustraliaTerri Reilly
National Board member and Chief Executive Officer, TasmaniaMat Rowell
National Executive OfficerNick Tebbey